Home » Amateur Radio » A Brief Winter Field Day 2017 Op From the Mobile Station

A Brief Winter Field Day 2017 Op From the Mobile Station

Archives

Brunswick – On Sunday morning after attending 8:00 AM Eucharist at St. Mark’s Episcopal Church in Brunswick, I decided to get in a few Winter Field Day contacts before going to sleep (I work midnights and went to Church after work). Initially, I had the idea to operate from the parking lot of the Brunswick Landing Marina off of US 341 in downtown Brunswick; I thought it would be nice to operate from both a historic and scenic location. Unfortunately, I had an S7 noise floor on 20 Meters (the first band I tried) which made any contacts extremely difficult. I’m not sure what the source of the noise was, but I’m guessing it was coming from nearby industrial or port facilities. I tried several different spots in the lot with same disappointing result (I was genuinely looking forward to operating from the area), so I left and went back to the parking lot at work and operated there for about an hour.  It was a bit early, so I didn’t hear a lot of stations on but I was able to work most that I heard on both 40 Meters and 20 Meters. My first contact, pleasantly, was with VA1AVR in Nova Scotia. From there, I worked stations in Alabama, Iowa, Kansas, New York, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.

The next time I try to operate from the downtown Brunswick area, I might try the Mary Ross Park area but I’m afraid that might have the same result because it isn’t far from the Brunswick Landing Marina. I’ll give it a try and report on the results.


Leave a Reply

