Home » Amateur Radio » In the Log: W9IMS for the 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500

In the Log: W9IMS for the 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500

Archives

Savannah – I don’t set many goals in my hobbies, but I did set an amateur radio goal for 2016: to work W9IMS for this year’s 100th running of the Indianapolis 500. It’s a milestone race for IndyCar, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, and for motor sport as a whole so as an IndyCar and motor sport fan I wanted to get the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Amateur Radio Club in the log. The club operates under the callsign W9IMS and they do special event stations for each race at the Speedway. They always have nice QSL cards, so contacts with them are eagerly sought after by hams who are and aren’t motor sport fans.

Front of the W9IMS 2010 Indianapolis 500 QSL Card featuring race winner Dario Franchitti

Front of the W9IMS 2010 Indianapolis 500 QSL Card featuring race winner Dario Franchitti

Back of the W9IMS QSL Card for the 2010 Indianapolis 500

Back of the W9IMS QSL Card for the 2010 Indianapolis 500

Front of the 2011 W9IMS Indianapolis 500 QSL Card featuring race winner Dan Wheldon

Front of the 2011 W9IMS Indianapolis 500 QSL Card featuring race winner Dan Wheldon

Back of the 2011 W9IMS Indianapolis 500 QSL Card

Back of the 2011 W9IMS Indianapolis 500 QSL Card

This morning I fired up the mobile HF station after watching qualifying for the Grand Prix of Monaco, found W9IMS calling on 7.238 and they came back to me after my first call! 40 Meters is not the best band for my mobile station, so I was surprised at how easy it was. I looked around 20 Meters for them later in the afternoon but couldn’t find them (although they were still at it on 40 Meters) so I won’t be picking them up on multiple bands this year. Two weeks ago, I also worked W9IMS on 40 Meters for their IndyCar Angie’s List Grand Prix (on the road course at IMS) special event, so even though the mobile station’s best bands are 14, 15, and 10 Meters, the repaired FT-857D is definitely working on 40 Meters.

I’ll be sending out QSL cards for both the 500 and Angie’s List races on Tuesday; when I receive the QSL Cards from W9IMS later this year, I’ll make sure to post them here.


Leave a Reply

