Home » 10 Meters » Mobile Activity for the ARRL 10 Meter Contest

Mobile Activity for the ARRL 10 Meter Contest

Archives

Brunswick & Savannah – This past weekend was the ARRL 10 Meter Contest; since 10 Meters is one of the bands my mobile station usually works good on, I thought I would give it a go. Judging by all of the good reports I was seeing on Twitter while I wasn’t able to be around the radio I was expecting to put a few stations in the log but it turned out not to be…

I fired up the mobile station on both Saturday and Sunday mornings after work before I got too tired to remember which side of the mic I was able to to talk to. On Saturday morning I heard only a very few stations, all of them too weak by far to be able to carry on a QSO with. On Sunday morning, I tried again and conditions seemed to be slightly better; I heard several stations strong enough to work but plenty of them just too weak to try to QSO with. I only ended up with 5 QSOs out of the contest, 1 each to Aruba, Bonaire, Colombia, Spain, & Venezuela.

The Main Tuning/VFO knob on the FT-857 still doesn’t work, so I need to get that sent off to Yaesu for repairs at the beginning of the year (car tax comes beginning of January, have to wait for that) and I also want to replace the car battery because it doesn’t seem to want to carry the load like it use to while stationary with the engine turned off. That will be probably be the last of of the hamming for the year as I’ve only got one day off from work when I go back to work Tuesday night until after Christmas and then comes New Years. It’s a busy time of year at work.

73, and for those who have time off during the Holidays, good luck on the bands. Merry Christmas!


Leave a Reply

