Home » Nature » Photos from the Savannah National Wildlife Refuge – 15 November 2015

Photos from the Savannah National Wildlife Refuge – 15 November 2015

Archives

On Sunday, I visited the the Savannah NWR twice, once in the morning by myself and then in the afternoon with my folks since they decided it was a nice afternoon for a visit. The morning visit was cool and breezy, so while there were a lot of waterfowl to be seen, I only saw two alligators. The afternoon visit was warmer and not so breezy, so we saw a few more alligators (11). I didn’t see very many during the afternoon visit, but during the morning visit I saw a lot of ducks in the area between the wildlife drive and the Raccoon Island Trail; they were mostly Ring Necked Ducks but there were some Blue Winged Teal and Northern Shovelers mixed in. Unfortunately, due to their location they were too far away from either the road or the trail to get good photos of them. The interior of the wildlife drive, between the drive and SC 170 is still bone dry; I do hope they decide to flood it for migratory waterfowl this winter because that area is generally where you can get the best duck photos.

This Double Crested Cormorant was enjoying a spot usually occupied by Anhingas

This Double Crested Cormorant was enjoying a spot usually occupied by Anhingas

Little Blue Heron hunting in low water

Little Blue Heron hunting in low water

This small Alligator was one of only two I saw during the morning visit

This small Alligator was one of only two I saw during the morning visit

Great Blue Heron sheltering from the wind

Great Blue Heron sheltering from the wind

I don't know much about small birds; I think this one is an Eastern Phoebe (bird experts please correct me if I'm wrong!)

I don’t know much about small birds; I think this one is an Eastern Phoebe (bird experts please correct me if I’m wrong!)

Ring Necked Ducks with some Blue Winged Teal and Northern Shovelers between the wildlife drive and Raccoon Island Trail

Ring Necked Ducks with some Blue Winged Teal and Northern Shovelers between the wildlife drive and Raccoon Island Trail

Large Alligator seen sunning during the afternoon visit

Large Alligator seen sunning during the afternoon visit

Alligator sunning on the bank of the diversion canal

Alligator sunning on the bank of the diversion canal


Leave a Reply

