Home » Military Monitoring » The Passing of a Scanning “Elmer” – Godspeed and Thanks to Jack Nesmith

The Passing of a Scanning “Elmer” – Godspeed and Thanks to Jack Nesmith

Archives

While checking my news feed last night, it was with sadness that I saw a post from Larry Van Horn’s MilCom Monitoring Post reporting that fellow scanning enthusiast Jack Nesmith had passed away. I only had the opportunity to meet Jack in person once – at a NAS Jacksonville Airshow, but often corresponded with him online and I definitely feel his loss. Jack was someone I consider to be one of my mentors in the Military Monitoring hobby. He was a friendly and humorous Elmer (in amateur radio terms) who was always willing to help with information and advice, even as recently as on my trip to Pensacola in April. His passing will definitely leave a hole in the hobby.

My condolences and prayers go out to Jack’s family as well as his many friends in the radio hobby. Thanks, Jack for all the help, God Bless.


Leave a Reply

