Home » Amateur Radio » Mobile Amateur Radio; 7/8 February 2015

Mobile Amateur Radio; 7/8 February 2015

Archives

Brunswick – I haven’t been active on amateur radio in about two months, but last weekend I decided to fire up the mobile station and see what I could hear.  On both Saturday and Sunday mornings between 1400-1500Z, I checked 20, 15, and 10 Meters for activity and I wasn’t disappointed. On both mornings, there were massive pileups on all three bands, presumably from K1N (not that you could tell… the pileups blended into an unintelligible mess in which you couldn’t make anyone out – not my idea of fun).

On Saturday morning, while everyone else seemed to be hunting Navassa Island, I took advantage of the Minnesota and Vermont QSO parties and a 10 Meter Contest to put a few stations in the log. I put one station in early, but it was rather cold out, so I decided to take a break and come back out and work a few more later when it warmed up, eventually working 10 stations. I also worked Guantanamo Bay; not a first for me but it had been awhile since my last contact with Gitmo. In addition to MN, VT, and Guantanamo Bay, I also worked Ukraine, France, Greece, and Belgium.

On Sunday morning after church, it was quite as cold as it was on Saturday so I got back on the air again. While I only worked two stations, both were nice contacts.  The first was Abdel, operating the Hucknall Rolls-Royce Amateur Radio Club station G5RR in England on 15 Meters. The other was with Norby, LX1NO in Luxembourg on 10 Meters.

It turned out to be a pretty decent amateur radio weekend and it might just motivate me to get back on the air again this weekend. Looking at the weather forecast, it looks like it will be cold again so I’ll have to see if conditions warrant sitting out in the cold to operate!


Leave a Reply

