Home » Amateur Radio » 2014 CQWW DX Contest

2014 CQWW DX Contest

Archives

Savannah – Yesterday concluded the 2014 CQWW DX Contest; as I mentioned on Saturday there are HF antenna problems at the home station so I operated the mobile station during this year’s contest. On Saturday I was able to put 96 QSOs in the log and added some new DX entities to the mobile logbook. On Sunday, I didn’t operate near as much as I did on Saturday so I only had 16 QSOs for the day. Despite the lower number of QSOs, I still added a new DX entity to the mobile logbook – Saint Kitts and Nevis. Here’s a list of the countries/DX entities I worked over the weekend:

  • Alaska
  • Argentina
  • Aruba
  • Ascension Island
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Canary Island
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • El Salvador
  • England
  • European Russia
  • France
  • French Guiana
  • Germany
  • Guatemala
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • Nicaragua
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Saint Kitts & Nevis
  • Serbia
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Venezuela
  • Wales

For a very casual operation using a mobile station I don’t think it was a bad effort and I am very pleased with the results, especially considering that most of the QSOs came on the first day of the contest with a small antenna and relatively low power. Over the two days, I made a total of 112 QSOs with 103 stations from 44 DX entities and 17 CQ Zones. You might have noticed that I didn’t mention any points… To be honest I don’t keep up with points because I don’t really worry about the score. For me, the contests are an opportunity to add new DX to the logbook and see what I can do with my station; if I give out a few contest points in the process, that’s good for those serious about scores.

KF4LMT Mobile,  Antennas: ABSCANC on top, CHL-72S on left rear, HVT-400B on right rear

KF4LMT Mobile, Antennas: ABSCANC on top, CHL-72S on left rear, HVT-400B on right rear

The equipment I used was a Yaesu FT-857D, an LDG Z-11 ProII tuner, and an Opek HVT-400B antenna. The antenna isn’t even 6 feet tall. I am constantly amazed by what I can do with such a small and relatively inexpensive station when conditions are right. This weekend was once again proof that you don’t need an expensive super contest station with radios that cost as much as a car and huge antennas on tall towers just to have a bit of fun on the air. You really can get on the air and have a lot of fun with a budget station.


Leave a Reply

