Home » Amateur Radio » Mobile Ops in the 2014 CQWW DX Contest

Mobile Ops in the 2014 CQWW DX Contest

Archives

Savannah – The amateur radio station at home has some antenna issues and I wanted to participate some in the 2014 CQ WW DX Contest this weekend, so I decided to operate from the mobile station off and on throughout the day. Operating with my mobile station on the first day of a big contest has never been easy but I was pleasantly surprised with what I was able to do today. To start the day, band conditions on 15 Meters and 10 Meters were pretty good. A solar flare degraded band conditions a bit in the early afternoon but the bands were still active and workable. During the evening I also used 20 Meters and it was its usual mess for a major contest. My sporadic efforts throughout the day yielded 96 QSOs to 40 DX entities, with Ascension Island, El Salvador, French Guiana, Guatemala, and Paraguay added as new DX entities to the mobile log.

I’ll have to work at least 4 stations on Sunday to make it a minimum of an even 100 for the weekend!

 


Leave a Reply

