Home » Museum of Aviation » Global Hawk at the Robins AFB Museum of Aviation

Global Hawk at the Robins AFB Museum of Aviation

Archives

Warner Robins – On my way from Forsyth to Savannah, I made a short side trip to see the RQ-4 Global Hawk (02-2011) at the Robins AFB Museum of Aviation. On my last visit to the museum I saw the RQ-4 in a fenced in area behind the museum but having seen that they now had it inside to do restoration work I wanted to drop in and get a better look at it while I was in the area. The RQ-4 is currently located in the back of the World War II Exhibit hangar next to the D-Day Air Invasion of Europe Exhibit.

RQ-4 Global Hawk (02-2011) at the Robins AFB Museum of Aviation

RQ-4 Global Hawk (02-2011) at the Robins AFB Museum of Aviation

As you can tell from the photo above, 02-2011 is looking very good! The wings are on and restoration is in progress. The fuselage appears to be fully painted and marked (but I couldn’t get a good angle on the tail – a lot of the hangar is roped off as they are in the process of moving aircraft and exhibits around). It was great to get my first in person look at an RQ-4 (other than seeing it in pieces before). The aircraft is smaller than I expected it be from looking at photos yet the wingspan is longer than I thought it would be. I can’t wait for the museum to finish restoration and get it on display with the U-2 and SR-71, that will make a wonderful exhibit on the history of reconnaissance aircraft.


Leave a Reply

