Home » Harris Neck NWR » Photos from Harris Neck NWR, 26 August 2014

Photos from Harris Neck NWR, 26 August 2014

Archives

26 August was the calm before the storm of the sinus infection… I thought I was getting better so I visited the refuge that morning before going to bed. I didn’t do much walking around, I just stopped at two of the ponds and took some photos.  Unfortunately after returning from the visit, the infection hit me like a ton of bricks and laid me out until Saturday. It turned out that the visit was fortunate, because I got to see my first Roseate Spoonbills. There were a handful of them mingling with some Wood Storks at Bluebill Pond! I’d heard of Roseate Spoonbill sightings at Harris Neck but I’d never seen any of the myself, I was excited when I first saw their pink plumage and realized what they were! While taking a look at Woody Pond, I noticed that the rookeries for the Wood Storks were mostly empty; there were still a few Wood Storks hanging around both Woody and Bluebill Ponds but it seemed like the majority of the them have already moved on.

Tri Colored Heron at Bluebill Pond

Tri Colored Heron at Bluebill Pond

Immature Wood Storks (pale heads) and Adult Wood Storks (darker heads) at Bluebill Pond

Immature Wood Storks (pale heads) and Adult Wood Storks (darker heads) at Bluebill Pond

Wood Storks (bottom) and Black Vultures (top) roosting in a dead tree on the edge of Bluebill Pond.

Wood Storks (bottom) and Black Vultures (top) roosting in a dead tree on the edge of Bluebill Pond.

Another Tri Colored Heron at Bluebill Pond

Another Tri Colored Heron at Bluebill Pond

A White Ibis and Wood Stork in the top of a pine tree at Bluebill Pond

A White Ibis and Wood Stork in the top of a pine tree at Bluebill Pond

Immature Green Heron feeding at Bluebill Pond

Immature Green Heron feeding at Bluebill Pond

Roseate Spoonbills (smaller pink birds) and Wood Storks (larger white/black birds) at Bluebill Pond

Roseate Spoonbills (smaller pink birds) and Wood Storks (larger white/black birds) at Bluebill Pond

Golden Silk Orb Weaver near Bluebill Pond

Golden Silk Orb Weaver near Bluebill Pond

Yellow Crowned Night Heron at Woody Pond

Yellow Crowned Night Heron at Woody Pond

This fellow was on the side of the exit road in a pine woods a good bit away from the water, I was a bit surprised to see him in that location.

This fellow was on the side of the exit road in a pine woods a good bit away from the water, I was a bit surprised to see him in that location.


Leave a Reply

