Home » Nature » Photos from the Savannah National Wildlife Refuge; 29 May 2014

Photos from the Savannah National Wildlife Refuge; 29 May 2014

Archives

It’s been a couple of weeks since I’d been out to the Savannah National Wildlife Refuge so yesterday morning I took a ride across the Savannah River and drove the Laurel Hill Wildlife Drive.  I’ve been under the weather recently and didn’t feel up to walking any of the trails, so all of the day’s photos were from right along the road.  Despite not getting back along some of the trails, it still turned out to be a pretty good visit.  The water level in the diversion canal was down a bit so there were more alligators to see in and along it; the total count for the day was 23.  I also saw a Wood Stork at Savannah NWR for the first time; out of all of the times I’ve visited it came a surprise that I’d never seen one there until today.  There’s an Anhinga nest I’ve been watching at the NWR since nesting season began and yesterday I saw the young Anhingas for the first time; it’s easily seen from the roadway and with a zoom lens or binoculars you can see the young birds in the nest.

I took this photo of a Red Winged Blackbird in full song out of the driver's side window of the car.  If I had tried to get out, it would have surely flown away.

I took this photo of a Red Winged Blackbird in full song out of the driver’s side window of the car. If I had tried to get out, it would have surely flown away.

A Snowy Egret, Wood Stork, and Great Egret feeding in close proximity.  Out of all of my visits to the refuge, this was my first time seeing a Wood Stork there.

A Snowy Egret, Wood Stork, and Great Egret feeding in close proximity. Out of all of my visits to the refuge, this was my first time seeing a Wood Stork there.

Little Blue Egret

Little Blue Egret

Young alligator...

Young alligator…

Full grown alligator

Full grown alligator

Alligator

Alligator

Turtles submerging because I got a bit too close.

Turtles submerging because I got a bit too close.

Turtle with just it's nose and eyes above the surface

Turtle with just it’s nose and eyes above the surface

I've been watching this Anhinga nest since nesting season began.  This was the first time the mother wasn't around I was able to see the young birds.  It looks like there could be 3-4 young in the nest.

I’ve been watching this Anhinga nest since nesting season began. This was the first time the mother wasn’t around I was able to see the young birds. It looks like there could be 3-4 young in the nest.

Flotilla of alligators in the diversion canal

Flotilla of alligators in the diversion canal


Leave a Reply

