Home » Nature » Photos From the Savannah NWR; 9 May 2014

Photos From the Savannah NWR; 9 May 2014

Archives

Yesterday morning I took a trip out to the Savannah National Refuge; with the 90+ degree temperatures we’ve been having this week I thought it would be ideal conditions to catch alligators out sunning.  While it was indeed warm and sunny I didn’t see but seven alligators.  The best place to see them is along the refuge’s diversion canal but the water level is so high in the diversion canal that it is covering the banks the alligators sun on, so they’ve obviously moved to find somewhere they can lay out in the sun.  Of the seven I saw, five were floating in the canal and two were in the “turtle hole” around mile 4 of the wildlife drive.

The day was not a disappointment, even though I didn’t see many alligators there was plenty more to see. I had the chance to take a lot of photos of two Great Blue Herons.  The first was apparently intent on putting on a show for the visitors because despite a crowd of at least ten folks gathered to watch him, he didn’t fly off but continued to preen himself then hunt for lunch.  Dragonflies were out in multitudes; there were not just squadrons of them but wings of them in blue, green, and yellow.

I don't know what type of fish this was, but it was spending a lot of time around the shallows.

I don’t know what type of fish this was, but it was spending a lot of time around the shallows.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Cattle Egret

Cattle Egret

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Just one of the many dragonflies out yesterday

Just one of the many dragonflies out yesterday

Turtle balancing on a log; shortly after I took this one another turtle climbed on the end of the log; the log rolled and this turtle fell off.

Turtle balancing on a log; shortly after I took this one another turtle climbed on the end of the log; the log rolled and this turtle fell off.

Turtle giving me the eyeball

Turtle giving me the eyeball

Alligator in the "turtle hole"

Alligator in the “turtle hole”

The turtle that rolled the log that dumped the first one off.

The turtle that rolled the log that dumped the first one off.

Dragonfly perched atop my mobile HF antenna

Dragonfly perched atop my mobile HF antenna

One of the few alligators I saw in the diversion canal

One of the few alligators I saw in the diversion canal

Great Blue Heron, not long after this shot I got just a bit too close...

Great Blue Heron, not long after this shot I got just a bit too close…

And it flew away down the diversion canal.

And it flew away down the diversion canal.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

One of the few alligators I saw in the diversion canal

One of the few alligators I saw in the diversion canal


Leave a Reply

