Home » Amateur Radio » Scouting Amateur Radio Event Locations on Jekyll Island

Scouting Amateur Radio Event Locations on Jekyll Island

Archives

Jekyll Island, GA – Yesterday morning I went out to Jekyll Island to scout some potential locations for the Coastal Amateur Radio Society‘s Lighthouse Weekend station.  CARS had planned to operate for the Lighthouse Weekend from the Tybee Island Lighthouse but the event falls on the same weekend as Orange Crush.  That would make it just too difficult for operators to easily get on and off of Tybee Island so they decided to investigate other options.  One of those options is the Saint Simons Island Lighthouse but it turns out that they won’t be able to operate at the Lighthouse itself because it is scheduled for a wedding that Saturday.  My mission on Jekyll Island was to ascertain if there were any locations that would be suitable.  The only two locations I found were the north end beaches and the pier area.  Both will probably be last resort options as the operating rules state you have to be able to see the lighthouse and while you can see it from the pier, you can’t see it from the picnic area where the station would be set up and the beach offers accessibility issues and transport issues getting batteries, etc. out to the location.  Both locations could also provide challenges for using wire/dipole antennas.

CARS is also assessing other locations and lighthouses to replace the Tybee Island Lighthouse; once I know what they’ll be doing I’ll post it on the blog as well as Twitter and Facebook.

While I was on Jekyll, I took the opportunity to take some photos around the pier and the north beaches.  It was a pretty windy morning and with the cloudy conditions and early time the lighting wasn’t all that great but I saw some Brown Pelicans, Cormorants, a Great Egret, Laughing Gulls, a Blue-Gray Gnatcatcher, and what I think was a Caspian Tern.  I also saw the R/V Savannah anchored in St. Simon’s Sound; based out of the Skidaway Institute of Oceanography in Savannah, its schedule shows it currently out for Long Term Ecosystem Research.

 

This Gray Squirrel was using one of the picnic area grills as its breakfast table.

This Gray Squirrel was using one of the picnic area grills as its breakfast table.

Brown Pelican perched on the pier

Brown Pelican perched on the pier

I think this is a Caspian Tern but I'm not sure, I'd appreciate any identification on it.

I think this is a Caspian Tern but I’m not sure, I’d appreciate any identification on it.

Cormorant floating near the pier

Cormorant floating near the pier

Great Egret hunting in the surf just off of the beach.

Great Egret hunting in the surf just off of the beach.

Laughing Gulls on the beach

Laughing Gulls on the beach

Brown Pelican floating off of the beach

Brown Pelican floating off of the beach

Brown Pelican flying just above the surface of St. Simon"s Sound

Brown Pelican flying just above the surface of St. Simon”s Sound

R/V Savannah, later in the morning I heard the Savannah on Marine VHF Ch. 16 as it  got underway northbound.

R/V Savannah, later in the morning I heard the Savannah on Marine VHF Ch. 16 as it got underway northbound.

Blue-Gray Gnatchatcher in the brush

Blue-Gray Gnatchatcher in the brush


1 Comment

  1. Daniel says:

    Jekyll has always been one of my favorite places in the state. There have been great opportunities for wildlife photography every time I’ve been there. I had never thought about the limited visibility of the lighthouse from the shore, but you are exactly right. I’ve always had to go out to the end of the pier to see it.
    Best of luck finding a good location!

Leave a Reply

