Home » History » Another Piece of Childhood Going Away – Isle of Hope Elementary is Being Demolished

Another Piece of Childhood Going Away – Isle of Hope Elementary is Being Demolished

Archives

This is not a blog post I planned on writing, instead it is one that forced itself on me.  On my way to church this morning, I passed by Isle of Hope Elementary School and saw the demolition work that is going on there.  I normally don’t take Skidaway Rd to go to church, I usually use LaRoche Ave but LaRoche is closed for construction.  This morning was the first time in quite awhile I’ve been that way and it came as a bit of shock to see what Isle of Hope Elementary looks like now.  I went to 5th Grade (Mrs. Luten’s class) and 6th Grade (Mrs. Trapani’s class) at Isle of Hope Elementary.  I know they’re going to rebuild on the same site, but I still find it sad to see another school I went to razed to the ground (Wilder Middle School was razed some years ago to make room for more construction at Memorial Hospital).

The Lunch Room/Auditorium.  In addition to eating lunch in that building, that's also where we went to band class.

The Lunch Room/Auditorium. In addition to eating lunch in that building, that’s also where we went to band class.

This sign wasn't there in my day, but it was when my nephew went to Isle of Hope Elementary.

This sign wasn’t there in my day, but it was when my nephew went to Isle of Hope Elementary.

Looking at where we bailed out of the buses and headed in to class, now filled with debris.

Looking at where we bailed out of the buses and headed in to class, now filled with debris. The date palm tree in this photo provided a lot of funny memories. Birds would eat date palms that had fallen off of the tree and fermented and would stumble and fly around “drunk.”

This wing will soon be gone.

This wing will soon be gone.

The rubble left from the demolition work in the field we used to play in at Isle of Hope Elementary.

The rubble left from the demolition work in the field we used to play in at Isle of Hope Elementary.

Even though I know  new facilities are needed, it’s still sad to see a part of my childhood go away.  Isle of Hope Elementary was the first school in Savannah I spent more than one year in a row at.  In New Orleans, I went to Kindergarten and 1st Grade at one school, moved across the street to another for 2nd Grade, then moved schools for 3rd Grade.  After that we moved to Savannah and I spent 4th Grade at Juliette Low Elementary before ending up at Isle of Hope Elementary.  As a result, Isle of Hope was really the first place where classmates became peers that I moved up in grades with.  As they build a new school on the property, I hope they find a way to keep the majestic live oak trees that have been a feature of the campus for as long as I can remember.  Maybe they can find a way to keep the date palm tree, too so it can provide comic relief to future generations of kids..


Leave a Reply

