Home » Books » Reading Material for the Near Future

Reading Material for the Near Future

Archives

I’ve added three new books to the Kindle for reading in the near future.  Two of them have been prompted by Twitter, one book on “the Troubles” in Northern Ireland and one on 3 Para during the Falklands War.  Having Irish heritage, it’s absurd that I’ve waited this long to begin reading about Irish history but reading tweets from some Irish that I follow have truly planted the Irish History Bug in me; I think I’m going to start with recent history and work my way back.  After posting a review of the last book I read on the Falklands War, I got a tweet from a soldier that has written another book on 3 Para in the Falklands War.  It sounds like an interesting read and it received an endorsement from 3 Para’s commander during the Falklands.  The third book has received a lot of media attention in the last few days and I’ve decided to find out what Robert Gates has to say instead of taking it from Fox News and CNN.  I look forward to reading all three:

  1. Making Sense of the Troubles: The Story of the Conflict in Northern Ireland – David McKittrick & David McVea
  2. Three days in June – James O’Connell
  3. Duty: Memoirs of a Secretary at War – Robert M. Gates

Additionally, one of my goals for 2014 is to write short reviews on each book I read.  You can thank (or blame, depending upon your point of view) Scott Whitmore for this idea.  It’s quite easy through Goodreads to write a review and have it posted on your blog, Twitter, Facebook, etc. so it shouldn’t be too hard to keep this goal.


Leave a Reply

