Home » Charleston » Charleston, SC Mini Road Trip

Charleston, SC Mini Road Trip

Archives

On 6 and 7 January 2014 I’ll be making a mini road trip to Charleston, SC to visit Fort Sumter, Fort Moultrie, and Patriot’s Point.  If I have the chance, I also want to visit the North Charleston and American LaFrance Fire Museum.  It’s been awhile since I’ve been to Patriot’s Point but I’m looking forward to seeing the USS Yorktown, USS Clamagore, USS Laffey, the Vietnam Fire Base recreation, and the Medal of Honor Museum.  I’ve never been to Fort Sumter before; I can wait to visit where the first shots of the Civil War were fired along with the site of Battery Wagner.

Most of my visit will be centered around the Patriot’s Point area, so Amateur Radio-wise, I’ll mostly be monitoring the 146.790 repeater on the USS Yorktown (I also like 70cm repeaters, so I’d love to know what the best 70cm repeater to monitor in that area would be).  I may also find the chance to get on HF as well, but no guarantees there.

I’ll also be doing some radio monitoring during the trip, including setting up the portable monitoring station while I’m staying overnight, much as I did on my trip 2013 Stone Mountain Trip.  I’ve never had the chance to do much scanning or monitoring in the Charleston area so it will be fun to see what I can hear.

Laptop computer controlling the Uniden HP-1 and netbook computer controlling the BCD396XT.

Laptop computer controlling the Uniden HP-1 and netbook computer controlling the BCD396XT.

I’ll try to make some blog posts during the trip but I’ll definitely be tweeting and posting photos via my Twitter and Instagram accounts.  After the trip I’ll be posting photos and some radio logs from the trip here on the blog.

 


Leave a Reply

