Home » Amateur Radio » Mobile Amateur Radio: 15 December 2013, ARRL 10 Meter Contest

Mobile Amateur Radio: 15 December 2013, ARRL 10 Meter Contest

Archives

Savannah – Sunday found me at home in Savannah, and as I mentioned in my post about Saturday’s activity the G5RV for the home station doesn’t tune well on 10 Meters, so I went out to the car a few times and operated the mobile station in the 2013 ARRL 10 Meter Contest.  The 10 Meter band was just as good today as it was yesterday and I was able to put 46 QSOs in the log book that included 24 countries or DX entities, 3 Canadian Provinces, and 5 US States.

  1. Belgium
  2. Bonaire Island
  3. Canada (Manitoba, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island)
  4. Cape Verde
  5. Chile
  6. Costa Rica
  7. Croatia
  8. England
  9. France
  10. Germany
  11. Ireland
  12. Italy
  13. Mexico
  14. Netherlands
  15. Nicaragua
  16. Peru
  17. Puerto Rico
  18. Scotland
  19. Slovak Republic
  20. Spain
  21. Sweden
  22. United States (AZ, CO, NM, NV, WY)
  23. Venezuela
  24. Virgin Islands

Compared to Saturday, Sunday’s haul was a much wider variety.  Europe as well as Central and South America were coming in as was the western United States and parts of Canada.  2 of the US States I worked, Colorado and Nevada, were new ones for the mobile logbook.  Unfortunately during the afternoon, some local QRM (noise) started that generated a S7 noise floor.  I could still hear and work stations, but the noise just took the fun out of it so I ceased operations and turned my attention to the day’s football games.

Both Saturday and Sunday, by my best recollection, are the most productive days I’ve had with the mobile station in any configuration; I had 90 QSOs over the weekend from just over 4 hours of operating.  The experience definitely surpassed any expectations I had.  Not only was the weekend a ton of fun on the air, it also proved the combination of FT-857D, Z-11 Pro II, and HVT-400B is an effective one.


Leave a Reply

