Home » Amateur Radio » New HF Radio in the Mobile Station

New HF Radio in the Mobile Station

Archives

As I posted last week, I ordered a Yaesu FT-857 D to replace the Yaesu FT-897 I was using for HF in the mobile station.  When I got home on Wednesday morning, the radio had arrived so I installed it and the LDG Z-11 Pro II tuner that I also ordered.  The main body of the FT-857D and the Z-11 Pro II are mounted under that passenger side front seat with the FT-857 control head mounted along the center console using a RAM mount.  The antenna remains the same, an Opek HVT-400B mounted on the car’s rear hatch.

Positions of the FT-8800 control head, BC780XLT control head, HP-1, and FT-857D control head in the mobile station.

Positions of the FT-8800 control head, BC780XLT control head, HP-1, and FT-857D control head in the mobile station.

With the addition of the FT-857D, the current radios in the mobile station are the Yaesu FT-8800 for 2 Meters/70cm amateur radio, a Uniden BC780XLT for aviation/MilCom monitoring, a Uniden HP-1 for other scanning, and the FT-857D for HF amateur radio and utility monitoring.  The replacement of the 897 that I used to use for HF has freed up the passenger side floor board and keeps me from having to remove the HF radio anytime I have a passenger.

Close view of the positioning of the FT-857D control head.

Close view of the positioning of the FT-857D control head.

On Wednesday afternoon and Thanksgiving day I worked a couple of stations on 20 Meters to see if the 857D worked and got good signal reports.  This morning I finished the installation by installing a speaker and afterwards worked some stations on 40 Meters, 20 Meters, and 15 Meters to give it a good test.  AI4DU, the net control station for the 7272 net on 40 Meters gave me a 58 report from NC.  KS4TL on Chincoteague Island in VA gave me a 57 report on 20 Meters.  On 15 Meters, my favorite HF band, IW1GGR in north Italy gave me a 56 report while 9A4W on Isle of Brac in Croatia gave me a 58 report.  I couldn’t be happier with the little radio.


1 Comment

  1. […] 2013.  From the mobile station, I hadn’t been on the air since 27 October 2013.  I bought a new HF radio for the mobile station just before Thanksgiving and I of course wanted to see how it worked, but the real motivation to […]

Leave a Reply

