Home » Amateur Radio » New Radio on Order for the Mobile Station

New Radio on Order for the Mobile Station

Archives

Earlier tonight, I ordered a new HF radio for the mobile station.  The FT-897 has served well over the last 5 years but it just takes up too much space in the car.  Taking it in and out of the passenger side of the floorboard whenever I have a passenger is also a pain in the butt.  Since it is practically the same radio in a different body, I ordered a Yaesu FT-857D.  I also ordered an LDG Z-11 Pro II tuner to go along with it.

Yaesu FT-857D (photo from rigpix.com)

Yaesu FT-857D (photo from rigpix.com)

LDG Z-11 Pro II (photo from the LDG website)

LDG Z-11 Pro II (photo from the LDG website)

I’ll be able to mount the 857 in the back of the car and remote mount the face on the dash, so I won’t have to use the homemade floorboard mount anymore.  The plan is also to mount the tuner with the radio in the back because under most circumstances, as an autotuner, I won’t have to change settings on it.

I have a number of days off from work over the Thanskgiving holiday and the hope is that everything arrives before then and I’ll be able to do the installation over the holiday.  Once that is done, I’ll scratch out a blog post on the new installation.


Leave a Reply

