Home » Computer Aided Scanning » Testing ARC-Patrol Mobile During a Savannah NWR Visit

Testing ARC-Patrol Mobile During a Savannah NWR Visit

Archives

Savannah, GA – Next week I plan on taking a trip to Darlington, SC and I want to use the netbook computer and ARC-Patrol to log what the Uniden Home Patrol scanner hears during the trip.  Of course the battery won’t last that long, so I decided to use a DC to AC converter to use the netbook’s wall wart to power it.  There’s no doubt it would work to power the netbook but I was concerned that the converter would create RFI problems.

This morning I decided to test things out by hooking it all up in the car and heading to the Savannah National Wildlife Refuge.  Everything worked great.  The netbook and the HP-1 logged everything and the converter caused no RFI problems with the HP-1, the BC780XLT, or the FT-8800 (HF wasn’t hooked up so I don’t know if it caused problems there).  The only problem is that the power ports on the Sportage that the converter plugs into are only live when the ignition is on, so if I shut the car off I have to remember to turn the converter back on after cranking back up.

The drive through the Savannah NWR wasn’t bad this morning either.  There was a light rain part of the time but that still didn’t keep me from seeing a few alligators, some waterfowl, and other birds.  In all the years I’ve been visiting the Savannah NWR, I saw something for the first time this morning – an alligator crossing the road.  It must have been at least 7 feet long.  Given that it had mouth full of sharp pointy teeth, I decided to stay in the car and give him the right of way!  I also finally got a photo of a red winged blackbird; every time I’ve ever tried to get a photo of one before, they’ve flown away before I could get close enough.

Red Winged Blackbird

Red Winged Blackbird

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Alligator in the rain.

Alligator in the rain.

Alligator cruising along in the rain.

Alligator cruising along in the rain.

Alligator by the road...

Alligator by the road…

then crossing the road.

then crossing the road.

Water lillies for as far as you could see.

Water lillies for as far as you could see.

Alligator just relaxing in one of the canals.

Alligator just relaxing in one of the canals.


1 Comment

  1. […] the exception of the HF radio:  The Uniden HP-1, the Uniden BC780XLT, and the Yaesu FT-8800. As I experimented with last week, I hooked up the portable monitoring station netbook computer to the Uniden HP-1 during the trip […]

Leave a Reply

