Home » ADS-B » DPD Productions Indoor ADS-B Antenna Improving Reception

DPD Productions Indoor ADS-B Antenna Improving Reception

Archives

Savannah, GA – I don’t have any technical data to offer as proof, but I do have results to offer as proof that the DPD Productions Indoor ADS-B antenna has improved the reception of my RadarBox.  At one point this afternoon I was receiving 30 aircraft on Mode-S and 9 of those were plotting on the map.  That is the most I’ve received at one time and the most I’ve seen plot on the map at one time since I started using the ADS-B receiver.

9 aircraft plotting on the ADS-B map this afternoon. No network data used, just aircraft being received by the RadarBox.

9 aircraft plotting on the ADS-B map this afternoon. No network data used, just aircraft being received by the RadarBox.

If you’re using an ADS-B receiver or one of the new inexpensive dongles, I would definitely recommend this antenna.  I like to let the RadarBox run 24/7 because it feeds the Mil Mode-S and FlightRadar 24 databases but I wouldn’t be able to do that with an outside antenna.  Especially during this time of the year there are too many afternoon thunderstorms that I wouldn’t be around to disconnect the antennas for.  The DPD Indoor ADS-B antenna has allowed me to have better range and still be up 24/7.  It’s an excellent compromise solution.


Leave a Reply

