Home » Amateur Radio » Amateur Radio: Don Oberlin, KK4AMD, Silent Key

Amateur Radio: Don Oberlin, KK4AMD, Silent Key

Archives

Yesterday I received word that Don Oberlin, KK4AMD  of Midway, GA passed away on Veterans Day.  I knew that I hadn’t heard Don on the radio recently but I had chalked it up to the fact that I’m in Brunswick more than I am Savannah.  I didn’t know Don but for a few years, but it didn’t take long to realize what a good man he was.  He was kindhearted and enthusiastic in everything he did.  I’m proud to have counted Don among my radio friends.  I first met him through a mutual interest in scanning when I helped him get his BCD396 up and running on the area trunked systems.  Don soon became interested in Amateur Radio, taking one of the Technician Class license classes offered by the Coastal Amateur Radio Society in January 2011 and earning his Technician Class license in February 2011.  He had a speech impediment, but Don jumped into Amateur Radio with both feet and never got discouraged.  Up until recently, he was a fixture on the air and an avid participant in area nets and amateur radio activities.

I think we could all benefit from his example of enthusiasm and dedication; Don was an asset to Amateur Radio in our area and will definitely be missed.  73 and God Bless, my prayers and thoughts are with all of Don’s family and friends.

Don’s obituary in the Savanah Morning News can be read here Visitation is on Thursday night from 6 pm – 8 pm at the Richmond Hill Funeral Home (8901 Ford Avenue, Richmond Hill, GA)   The funeral service will be on Friday morning at 11 am at the Funeral Home.

 

 


3 Comments

  1. Philip says:

    I helped Don early this spring with his antenna. He will be missed.

  2. Jason says:

    Don is my stepfather, and I would like to convey to you how much happiness your community brought him. He was not a social butterfly, owing to his disability, and before amateur radio, he was somewhat lonely. Speaking with him about his growing love of the hobby, and the pride he felt upon getting his licence, it was clear that being in your community did him a world of good.

    Thank you all for enriching his life, and for being such good friends to him.

    ~Jason

    • KF4LMT says:

      Thanks for the comment, Jason. I’ve posted this on the radio club’s Facebook page so they can see it as well. Don has certainly been missed.

Leave a Reply

