Home » Amateur Radio » Memorial Day Weekend Amateur Radio Activity

Memorial Day Weekend Amateur Radio Activity

Archives

Over the Memorial Day weekend, I worked 3 of the special event stations from Friday’s post along with four that I hadn’t posted (including one that I wasn’t aware of and hadn’t seen announced).  Additionally, I picked up 6 DX contacts including two Islands.  Even though I spent all day (literally) Sunday watching racing, it turned out to be a good weekend for playing on the HF station at home.

I worked W9IMS, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Amateur Radio Club on 40 Meters and 20 Meters on Friday and Saturday.  Ever since I upgraded to General Class a few years ago, it just isn’t Indianapolis 500 weekend unless I make a contact with W9IMS.  Look for W9IMS to be active for all of the Speedway’s race weekends including the NASCAR race in July and MotoGP in August.

On Memorial Day, I worked the USS Lexington, CV-16’s amateur radio station, W5LEX as they celebrated the 20th Anniversary of that great ship as a museum ship and the Five Sullivan Brothers Amateur Radio Club’s Memorial Day Special Event using W0FSB.  Click here for more information on the history of World War II carrier USS Lexington.  If you’re not familiar with the Five Sullivan Brothers, click here.  Stations like these are great ways for radio hobbyists to keep the memory of historic ships and figures alive and I always enjoy checking in with them and listening for a bit; you never know when you might get to hear a good story from one of the veterans checking in.

I also found some special event stations that I didn’t list in my Friday post.  On Saturday, I picked up the Roanoke Valley Amateur Radio Club, W4CA operating their annual Festival in the Park special event station.  I didn’t find it listed before finding them on the air, but the LZU Operators, W4LZU were on the air Saturday with a special event station for a 1929 Ford Tri-Motor aircraft that was visiting Briscoe Field in Lawrenceville, GA.  W8CJQ was active as a special event station in Allegan, MI for the return of the 105 year old cruise ship SS Keewatin  to Canada.

The DX stations I worked were R7DX (European Russia), IS0BOZ (Sardinia), TM5FI (Ratonneau Island), IZ0PED (Itlay), MM0XAU (Shetland Islands), and OE3WMA (Austria).  TM5FI and MM0XAU added new IOTA (Islands on the Air) stations to my logbook.

When I fired up Ham Radio Deluxe on Friday, I noticed that I hadn’t used the home station since the end of January!  I didn’t realize it had been THAT long!  Despite the approach of Tropical Storm Beryl, which missed Savannah but will soak us today and tomorrow as a depression, it was a fun weekend in the ham shack.  Hopefully the gap in between getting it on the air isn’t as long this time.

 


2 Comments

  1. […] from the Festival in the Park  in Roanoke, VA  – one of the special event stations I worked and posted about during Memorial Day weekend. Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  2. […] Last month on Memorial Day weekend I worked W8CJQ, a special event station aboard the passenger ship SS Keewatin.  The W8CJQ operation from 26-28 May 2012 was the last US amateur radio operation aboard the ship from it’s homeport as a museum in Douglas, Michigan before she moved to her new home port of Port McNicoll, Ontario as a museum.  US hams have operated aboard the Keewatin in the past for the Museum Ships weekend and a group of Canadian hams are supposed to continue the tradition beginning in 2013.  The contact with W8CJQ caught my attention so I decided to do a bit of research on the SS Keewatin. QSL Card from the last special event operation aboard SS Keewatin before she moved back to Canada […]

Leave a Reply

