Home » Amateur Radio » Clarification of Comments on the VA National Guard Use of NIVS in Afghanistan

Clarification of Comments on the VA National Guard Use of NIVS in Afghanistan

Archives

I want to clarify my comments from December 19, 2011 post “Video Killed the Radio Star – Virginia National Guardsman Finds New Use for Old Radio Technology in Afghanistan.” I received a post reply from MSG Fix, who is in the article, this evening and I interpreted from his reply that he thought I was being negative.

For those of you who can’t understand why “someone didn’t think of it sooner”, all I can say is that this is what you get when you send Army National Guardsmen into a place… we think outside the box on how to get things done! We still need to make some final modifications, but basically we have a sound idea. The transmitter was custom made for us and cost less than $4k. The rest of the components were parts and antenna masts that I use for our 11 primary 300w FM radio stations that we had around the FOB.

In rereading my initial comments, I can see that I didn’t convey what I was actually thinking.  In saying that “I guess it’s one of the ‘Why didn’t we think of this before’ situations” I was trying to point out that we (and in particular I’m pointing my finger at we hams) often look for the most high tech and complicated solution to a problem when there is simpler solution that will work just as good if not better.  I was not trying to say that I could have done any better because I know that I wouldn’t have.  My reply to MSG Fix:

Apparently you took my comments as an insult, which they were not intended to be. I was attempting to point out that we often look for the most high tech or complicated solution to a problem when often times there is a simple solution that will work just as good if not better. Neither was I implying that I could have done any better; I doubt that I would have thought to use NVIS in a broadcast application. In fact I laud the Guard unit for doing it! I wouldn’t have posted the article on my blog if I didn’t like it!

I sincerely apologize if you took my comments in any way other than that in which they were intended. No slight against the unit involved or the Guard in general was intended; I simply wished to point out a great use of NVIS antenna technology.

Once again, I would like to apologize for not writing what I was actually thinking at the time.  I thought that the story was a good lesson for my fellow amateur radio operators and I, so that is why I shared it.  No slight towards the Virginia Guard unit or the Guard in general was intended.


1 Comment

  1. Guy says:

    Good clarification Mac. I never thought your comments were anything but complimentary. But then again I know you. Good job to you. And to the fine soldiers of the VA Natl. Guard!

Leave a Reply

