Home » Forest Fires » New Fires in the Okefenokee and in Long County

New Fires in the Okefenokee and in Long County

Archives

Once again there is a fire in the Okefenokee Swamp.  This fire, known as the Honey Prairie fire has burned more than 96,000 acres.  This NASA Earth Observatory satellite photo from May 10 shows how large the fire is.


There is also another fire in Long County. On my way home from Brunswick to Savannah yesterday morning, there was visible smoke along I-95 in McIntosh, Liberty, and Bryan Counties from it but nothing that would constitute a driving hazard – there was still plenty of visibility.  For milair enthusiasts, I’m not sure how this will effect Townsend Range and flight ops there.

I haven’t had a chance to monitor either fire yet, so I don’t have any frequencies to pass along.  I’m hoping that when I go back to Brunswick this weekend I might have a chance to search for US Forestry Ops from the Okefenokee fire.


Leave a Reply

