Home » Aviation » Douglas Road Trip Scanning Report; 21 March 2014

Douglas Road Trip Scanning Report; 21 March 2014

Archives

Follow me on Twitter

Douglas, GA – After work this morning, I had some breakfast in Brunswick then made my way to Douglas, GA via GA 32.  It was the first time I’ve used GA 32 and really the first time I’ve spent any time at all in Bacon or Coffee County.  Of course I had the scanners in the mobile station going and I’ll report on what I heard below.

The object of today’s part of the road trip was visiting the World War II Flight Training Museum at the Douglas airport.  It doesn’t open until 1100, so I stopped by the Heritage Station Museum which opens at 0800.  I’ll have posts on these two museums up in a few days, so I won’t go into detail here.  Inbetween the Heritage Station Museum and the Flight Training Museum, I stopped by the Flyin’ Cowboy restaurant for lunch; it’s right next to the Douglas Airport and it has a rather interesting attention getter out front (see below). For supper, I stopped at Danny’s Pizza thanks to a suggestion on Facebook.  Danny’s reminded me of a pizzeria from the 70’s and had excellent thin crust pizza.

Heritage Station Museum - Douglas, GA

Heritage Station Museum – Douglas, GA

In front of the Flyin' Cowboy restaurant - driving by an airport it definitely gets your attention!

In front of the Flyin’ Cowboy restaurant – driving by an airport it definitely gets your attention!

The WWII Flight Training Museum in Douglas, GA

The WWII Flight Training Museum in Douglas, GA

Danny's Pizza

Danny’s Pizza

I’ve never listened to Bacon and Coffee County before, so a few days ago I created a favorites list for the HP-1 for Coffee County and surrounding counties, switching to it when I crossed into Pierce County on GA 32.  Here’s what I heard public safety-wise:

153.995 (DCS 031) – Bacon County EMS Dispatch
154.220 (PL 114.8) – Coffee County Fire Dispatch
154.310 (PL 114.8) – Coffee County EMS Dispatch
154.445 (PL 118.8) – Ware County Fire Dispatch
151.370 (PL 141.3) – Georgia Forestry District 8 Admin
159.120 (PL 107.2) – Georgia Forestry District 8 Rptr
159.225 (PL 100.0) – Georgia Forestry District 10 Rptr
159.390 (PL 156.7) – Georgia Forestry Mobile-to-Mobile
164.575 (PL 206.5) – Okeefenokee NWR

I also had the BC780XLT going on aviation and milair frequencies.  All of the below were heard west of Patterson (Pierce County) on GA 32.  I was very pleased with airband reception out this way, I could VHF airband traffic up to the Charleston area on the High and Ultra High frequencies; the next time I come this way, I’ll have a better idea of what to have programmed in.  Unfortunately, I thought I had the Moody MOA frequencies programmed in but it turned out that I didn’t and I didn’t realize it until it was too late in the afternoon on a Friday to catch anything on them.  I did, however, have some Moody A-10 air-to-air frequencies programmed in and heard some activity on them.

122.800 – Douglas Airport
124.075 – Jax Center Summerville High
126.125 – Jax Center Statesboro High
285.650 – Jax Center Statesboro High
126.750 – Jax Center Brunswick Low
127.575 – Jax Center Waycross Low
127.875 – Jax Center Aiken High
132.425 – Jax Center Hunter Ultra High
132.925 – Jax Center Millen/Savannah Low
133.625 – Jax Center Georgetown High
135.975 – Jax Center Alma High
128.100 – Atlanta Center Augusta Low
322.400 – Jacksonville Approach/Departure
228.400 – Townsend Range
339.500 – VMFA-115 Tac 1

139.700 – 23rd FG air-to-air
140.200 – 23rd FG air-to-air
143.150 – 23rd FG air-to-air

Tomorrow, the plan is to visit General Coffee State Park in the morning then head back to Savannah after lunch.  Tomorrow evening I should have another scanning report up then sometime over the weekend posts on the museums and park will be up.


1 Comment

  1. […] GA – As I mentioned in the first day’s scanning report the first stop on my Douglas/Coffee County road trip was the Heritage Station Museum.  It is very […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,247 other followers

